orbitsatellite question & answers
  • Spend Alerts

    In order to assist you to manage your bill cycle spend, Orbit Satellite has introduced spend alerts.  If we hold a valid email address for your account, we will send a spend alert by email and a spend alert by SMS.  If we do not hold a valid email address for your account, the spend alert will only be sent to you by SMS.  If you have a number of services with us on the same account, you will get spend notifications for each of those services to the same account email address.

    • Currently there are three levels of spend alerts:

      1. We will notify you when your usage has exceeded 50% of your included value or data allowance during your current bill cycle;

      2. We will notify you when your usage has exceeded 85% of your included value or data allowance during your current bill cycle; and

      3. We will notify you when your usage has exceeded 100% of your included value or data allowance during your current bill cycle.

      If you have received the 100% spend alert that means that additional charges will be applied to your account during the current bill cycle.

      If your call plan includes an included call value and a separate data allowance, you will receive a separate spend alert for the included call value and a separate spend alert for the data allowance.

      Additional charges will always apply for call types that are not in your included call value or data allowance.

      Additional charges will apply for call types that are in your included call value or data allowance when you have used up all of the included call value or data allowance.

      You can find out information about the rates for additional call charges that apply to your call plan by visiting www.orbitsatellite.com.au and looking for the rates that apply to your call plan.

      Alternatively you can call our customer care team at 1300 766 943 for information about the rates for additional charges that apply to your call plan.

      We will monitor your unbilled usage, and issue spend alerts once per day based on the latest call or data charges we have loaded and processed in our billing system.

      If you exceed a spend alert threshold, the spend alert will show the current percentage of usage against the included call value or the data allowance depending on the type of spend alert.
      If you have exceeded a spend alert threshold for both the included value and the data allowance, you will receive two spend alerts, one for each type of usage.

      If you have rapidly used up your included call allowance, you will only receive the spend alert for the highest threshold value you have exceeded.  For example if on day 12 of your bill cycle we calculate your included value usage percentage as 48% you will not receive a spend alert, but if on day 13 we calculate your included value usage percentage as 87% you will only receive the 85% spend alert as this is the higher spend alert threshold.

      Please be aware that call charges that have not yet been loaded and processed in our billing system, may mean that your actual unbilled usage exceeds the percentage notified to you in the spend alert.

      The percentage utilization of your included value or data allowance will be reset to zero at the start of your next billing cycle, or if you change your call plan.

      You can monitor your unbilled usage at any time by logging in to your account .  You will need your account number located on your bill, and your password to access our secure online environment.

      Alternatively you can call our customer care team at 1300 766 943 for information about your unbilled usage.

      You are responsible for monitoring your usage of our services, and you remain liable for payment for the services that you use.

      As we monitor and issue spend alerts once per day, you may already have exceeded the 100% spend allowance and be liable for extra charges before we are able to send you the 100% spend alert.  Call charges that have not yet been loaded and processed in our billing system may also mean that you are liable for additional call charges even if we have not yet issued you a 100% spend alert.

      In all cases, you are liable for your actual usage of our services regardless of whether you received a spend alert notification from us or not.

      If you change your call plan or your billing cycle, then the percentage utilization of your included value or data allowance will be reset to zero. You will only be alerted to unbilled usage on the new call plan or billing cycle.

      When you connect a new service in the middle of a billing cycle, or change to a new call plan in the middle of a billing cycle, some call plans will prorate the included value and the data allowance at the same percentage that the access fee is prorated.

      If this applies to your call plan, the spend alert notification will be calculated against the prorated amount of the included call value or data allowance.  So for example, if your call plan has $50 of included value and you connected in the middle of the bill cycle, the spend alert will be calculated on an included value of $25, being the prorated amount that applies for the remaining half of the bill cycle.

      Prorating only occurs in the first bill cycle of the new service or changed call plan. For subsequent bill cycles, the spend alert notification will be calculated against the full amount of the included call value or data allowance.